2016: // Year in review

2016, the year we lost many heroes and is claimed to be the ‘worst year ever’. Admittedly it was a difficult year but as I began to prepare photos for this post I could not help but think despite all the rubbish, me and my friends have achieved some pretty wonderful things. I guess sometimes its difficult to see past the dark, but with good friends and supporting one another it goes to show anything is possible.

Since leaving uni I have been building up my photography business, I’ve never worked so hard and slept so little. But now I’m starting to make progress its all worth it. 2016 was the year I found my style within the photography industry, created some beautiful images of the couples I was fortune enough to work with and had my first ever stall at a wedding fair which has already opened so many more doors for me. Here are some of my favourites from weddings and pre-wedding shoots from last year:

 

Thank you to all the wonderful bride and grooms I got to work with last year, thank you for putting faith in my work and trusting my artistic visions. I could not be happier with what I’ve produced.

Photography has always been a way I have made friends and got to work with like minded people. I have had the opportunity to work with a lot of cool people in bands and the creative industry. I got to see and photograph so many great bands last year. A lot of those bands are also pals, so it was great to work with them. We sadly had to say farewell to Calls Landing for the foreseeable future, but some of the band have gone off and started a new adventure with Beach Head and Charlie is exploring music with Halfsleeper. Two of my friends spend most of the year travelling around Europe and America with their band, I could not be more proud of what they have achieved and as much as I missed them it was great to hear all the stories now they’re back.

Once again I worked Slam Dunk Festival, but this time with my video pal Adam. Over the three days of the festival we created three round up videos of the day, you can watch these here. I walked over 40km in the three days, my feet felt like they were going to fall off but when I watch those videos back and it actually shows what the Slam Dunk family achieve it was so worth it. We’re a tiny team, that run the best festival in the UK and seeing it progress to be in Birmingham NEC is next level.

Working for Slam Dunk also meant I got to film an announcement video with Derek from Mayday Parade which was 13 year old me’s dream come true, he was super lovely.

screen-shot-2017-01-08-at-12-49-23

Towards the end of the year I had my first exhibition out of uni, exhibiting my mental health project I did as my final piece. It was super scary but so great too, there were a lot of people who came that didn’t even know me which was crazy!

I also did my first wedding fair which I was so pleased with how my stall looked and how well it went.

And lastly, a thank you The Smith family for always being my models and supporting my ideas and to my wonderful set of photo/video pals who have helped us grow into this fantastic team we have. I’m really looking forward to the future!

As for my non-working year, I’ve done some super fun things.

I’ve done some fun stuff, lots of gigs including seeing Adele (which I’ve wanted to do since her album 19 and it was out of this world!), visits to London to see pals, fancy dress parties, a holiday with my best friend and family, a trip to Amsterdam, illustration show down, laser quest for my birthday, day trips and so much more.

And the biggest news of the year; my baby sister got ENGAGED. I could not be happier for them both! ❤

Going into 2017, great things are lined up to happen and I’m hoping to really move forward this year and achieve even more.  We have trips planned and hopefully lots of adventures will unfold. After lots of problems last year, I feel me and my friends are in a better place then ever. We’ve gone through hell to come out to have an even stronger bond then before with those closet to me. This year we’ve gone into it with positive mind and with lots of hope and plans.

I wish you all the best for 2017 and thank you for the continuing support with my photography.

All the best

Chillin xoxo

 

 

Leave a Reply

